In addition to ITMO University, the first group includes the Higher School of Economics, Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology, MISIS, Tomsk State University, and Novosibirsk State University.

The second group is comprised of Tomsk Polytechnic University, Kazan Federal University, First Moscow State Medical University, St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, Ural Federal University, Peoples' Friendship University of Russia, and Tyumen State University.

The third group is comprised of Lobachevsky State University of Nizhni Novgorod, Far Eastern Federal University, South Ural State University, Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University, Immanuel Kant Baltic Federal University, Samara University, and Siberian Federal University.

As noted by Tatyana Golikova, the Russian Deputy Prime Minister, upon conclusion of the session, the project’s funding is expected to increase by 5 billion rubles in 2021. She also pointed out that, traditionally, the project’s 10-billion ruble budget is distributed in amounts of 900 million for universities in the first group, 450 million for universities in the second group, and 120 to 130 million for those in the third.

Tatyana Golikova. Credit: Project 5-100 Press Office
Tatyana Golikova. Credit: Project 5-100 Press Office

“In comparison to 2018, two major changes have occurred within the first group: ITMO University has moved up from the fifth to the second position, while Novosibirsk State University came down from fourth to seventh. There are no notable changes within the second group. As for the third – South Ural State University has risen significantly, while Siberian Federal University ranked lower,” says Tatyana Golikova, the Council’s Chair.

As described in an official press release, the universities are sorted into three groups based on three criteria: their performance in academic rankings, indicators of their scientific, educational, international, and financial performance, and evaluations by the Council’s members.

Twelve universities presented their reports during the first day of the session; nine more universities presented reports on the second day, one of them being ITMO University.

ITMO University delegation at the 12th session of the Council on Competitiveness Enhancement
ITMO University delegation at the 12th session of the Council on Competitiveness Enhancement

ITMO University’s delegation was comprised of Rector Vladimir Vasilyev, First Vice Rector Daria Kozlova (lead speaker), Vice Rector for Research Vladimir Nikiforov, Head of the Strategic Development Department Marianna Chistyakova, head of the School of Photonics Vladislav Bougrov, dean of the Faculty of Technological Management and Innovations Anton Gopka, head of the Master's Programs Department Sergey Kolyubin, and head of the Strategic Communications Department Anna Veklich.

ITMO University, which has remained among the Project’s leaders since its beginning, presented the results of its achievements since 2013 up to the present day, as well as its plans for development up to 2027. Check out ITMO University's presentation for 5-100 Project by visiting ITMO.SHOW.

Back to top